Artist Residency in Milan

Before arriving in Milan

Posted in posts, Uncategorized by Asim Waqif on March 23, 2010
Dear Asim,
I hope you are well. I believe this email may find you in the Andamans! Well, some good news: you have been selected as the artist in residence (beginning Feb. 2010) in Italy by the selection team. This is an informal communication and an official announcement will be made very soon.
Thats awesome !
Congrats! Great news. Which city? How long is it for?
merry christmas. hey that is fantastic, congratulations!
i am not sure about the dates. but starting sometime in february.
they will give me stipend, airfare, place to stay, all travel and also production expenses.
Sounds good.
Also you should learn italian
i look forward to hearing more about italy, andamans,  bhopal. talk to you soon .
best,
Still waiting to hear from you/italy formally about the residency. I also need to know details like the exact dates, etc. need to tell SPA about when i will not be able to come to teach and also plan out my other projects.
The next week we will have a meeting for defining your residence in Italy .
In any case for the Visa you need the following program :
*to stay in Italy from the beginning of February,arriving to Milan the 08.02  and leaving to Delhi the 16.05.
*from 8.02 to 6/7.03 you will stay in Milan: the Residency and the Studio will be c/o Fare Arte Via Piranesi 10 Milan
*from 7.03 to 9.04 you will turn to different Residencies in Turin,Rome,Catania/Sicily,and another city that will be selected according to you on function of your project.
*from 10.04 to 10.05 you will stay in Milan for the realization of the Project ,  solo show in a Gallery in Milan
*from 11.05 to 15.05 you will stay in Turin to present your installation and your Diary in occasion of Turin International Book Fair,in wich the India is the Country Guest : the opening will be the 13.05.
All others details, i.e the workshop “Surprise”, explaining and creating with childs, will be agreed with you when you will be in Milan.
At your disposal
Best regards
To apply for the visa I need to have a formal invitation from your side. The embassy here usually also asks to see airline booking, place where I will be staying as well as medical insurance.
There is just one month left for the residency so I hope you can send the papers as soon as possible.
Thanks again.
Hope to hear from you soon.
Best Regards
miyan, adaab.
bhai, hum to italy ja rahe hain 3 mahine ke liye.
won an artist-in-residence in milan. will be out from mid-feb to mid may.
excited and worried because i dont know what the fuck i am going to do.
app ka kya chal raha hain? kuchch masti bhi kar liya karo life main kabhi-kabhi…..
arre, kayeki pareshani jo pehni fankari sherwani…
merekubi batau aise tikitaan kaan milte…
masti to karke aaye andamaan me… wonderful place!
khuda hafiz…
At the end of your residence, your work will be shown in Milan and Turin for a small period (about one week in each town)
All the works realised by the artists involved in the Global Art Programme will be object of a great exhibition that will take place in Milan for the Expo 2015.
I wanted to clarify if the final works will belong to the artist or to artegiovane.
I can tell you right now that your final work will belong to artegiovane. In turn, at the end of the programme, artegiovane will give to a museum of milan.
I am preparing the official winners announcement and I was wondering if you have one image of the project you presented (sketch, photo, etc.).
Can you also confirm the title please?
Actually I did not submit any image/sketch with my proposal. It was all written. Frankly I am not sure what form my project will eventually take and so I dont know what image I can send you.
The title of my proposal is “Introducing a Vernacular into Totalitarian Urban-Design”.
we are sorry for the delay in getting back to you with documents and tickets, but we had to rearrange the 2010 schedule due to some changes in the organization.
We are aware that this may have unsettled your programmes and you might have trouble in receiving the VISA on time for the scheduled departure.
From my end I am completely ready to reach by the 8th Feb if the visa works out. I just want to clarify that the changes in your organisation structure will not affect the beginning of the residency in Milan.
Finally they have officially announced my residency in Milan. Attached is the official announcement with all the details.
Wish me luck.
Looks good, Asim. Good luck!
1) A Formal Invite to the Artist.
2) A Legal Contract stating that you will provide for accommodation, production-expenses, food, studio, return airfare as well as local transport within Italy. And also stating any stipend/artist-fees to be provided.
3) A Medical Insurance.
4) Booking of Return Ticket for Delhi-Milan.
As we are the organizing committee in India, we feel extremely responsible and would be grateful if this is resolved asap.
There is a small error in the spelling in my name. It should be Husen rather than Hosen. I hope it wont be too much trouble correcting it and sending me a revised copy.
I can imagine that this delay has been very annoyng for you. But please believe that italian burocracy can be even worse than yours…
could you let me know the dates of your arrival and departure as soon as you will book your return tiket to Italy, so that I can ask for your insurance?
However, under these circumstances, we may need to reconsider our collaboration.
Arrive in Milan on 25th February, Departure on 12th of June.
I applied for the visa yesterday. hopefully i should receive it by friday.
Please send to us your account banking references for transfer the money (which is the cost of the ticket)
By the way, do you have any documentation about your work (pictures, cv, atricles etc.) you can provide me by mail?
One of the aim of these exchanges of residencies is to present the work of the artists involved to a network of art galleries and I would like to arrange an appointment with the coordinator as soon as possible.
pl find attached the bill for flight ticket and visa for italy.
As concern your residence in Milan, the apartment and the studio are inside Open Care, that is also the location of our office. The studio is an open space, for the moment without any equipment.
To reach us you can take the train Malpensa Express and stop to Bovisa station. In Bovisa station take the train blue line R (passante ferroviario) destined for Rogoredo and stop to Porta Vittoria. Reach the exit Viale Molise, the first street on the right is Via Piranesi, your final destination.
But in any case, I will need a table for my laptop, etc. I would probably also need a larger table like a drawing board. It will be nice if the height and angle of this working surface is adjustable to some extent. And a couple of chairs, etc.
I am taking the early morning flight tomorrow. It will land in Milan at 5 pm tomorrow.
We are waiting for you!
have a nice trip!
Tagged with: , , ,

Leave a comment